A Poll on YOU

Posted: February 16, 2012 in EduBlogging, ePortfolio, HONORS PLE

Helpful or Hurtful????

 

Dangerous????

February 16, 2012

I am conducting a poll of Lane Community College students on the effects of texting.  This poll will be part of my final project for WR 227 this term.  If anybody has the free time to answer my questions you would be a huge help.

Honesty is appreciated.

  1. Have you found that your use of “text language” has had a negative effect on your academic writing?
  2. Do you use “text language” when texting, or do you use proper English, punctuation, and complete sentences?
  3. Do you use “text language” when emailing someone, or do you use proper English, punctuation, and complete sentences?
  4. Do you think that texting will have long-term positive, negative, or no effect on a student’s language and writing skills?
  5. Have you texted while driving in the last month?
  6. Do you believe that texting while driving is as dangerous as drinking and driving?
Comments
  1. Eve Hanson says:

    1-2. I don’t text.
    3. No
    4. I believe it will adversely affect language and writing because I’ve heard results from early studies that show it is already having a negative affect.
    5. No
    6. You. Anything that takes your focus off the road for more than a second is very dangerous.

  2. Have you found that your use of “text language” has had a negative effect on your academic writing?
    No.
    Do you use “text language” when texting, or do you use proper English, punctuation, and complete sentences?
    I use proper English. I don’t use a phone to post on Facebook or Twitter, instead I use my computer.
    Do you use “text language” when emailing someone, or do you use proper English, punctuation, and complete sentences?
    I use proper English. Sometimes I will put a smiley face if its not professional. : )
    Do you think that texting will have long-term positive, negative, or no effect on a student’s language and writing skills?
    No effect, there have been other similar phenomenon like this in history. Language is ever evolving and will do what it wants basically.
    Have you texted while driving in the last month?
    No way! Cell phones and cars do not mix.
    Do you believe that texting while driving is as dangerous as drinking and driving?
    Yes. Mythbusters confirmed it!

  3. oregonjake says:

    Chris, this is brilliant. I an extremely curious as to the results. Could you let us know the results once you are done? I think I know what the answers will show, but I will bite my tongue. Thank you for doing this study, we need to know these answers in order to make the roads safer, and our thumbs less damaged.

  4. 1.Have you found that your use of “text language” has had a negative effect on your academic writing?–no
    2.Do you use “text language” when texting, or do you use proper English, punctuation, and complete sentences?–use text language, but text seldomly
    3.Do you use “text language” when emailing someone, or do you use proper English, punctuation, and complete sentences?–depends on the person with whom I am speaking
    4.Do you think that texting will have long-term positive, negative, or no effect on a student’s language and writing skills?–depends on the student. If people can learn to seperate the two then no. If they can’t then like everything else there is a problem.
    5.Have you texted while driving in the last month?–no
    6.Do you believe that texting while driving is as dangerous as drinking and driving? NO–for the simple reason that a person who is drunk is impaired 100% of the time while drunk and driving whereas a texter may put down the phone while making tuns etc. Also, while an accident is occurring the texter becomes extremely alert whereas drunk driver’s inhibitions and alertness are still low and they don’t think to break, etc.

    BTW, isn’t there a way to use a poll to your blog? I believe at the bottom of the dashboard menu on the lefthand side it says “polls”. Or there may be an “add” menu that has “polls” under it.

  5. alman2 says:

    I just started texting, am I still eligible to be in the poll?

  6. alman2 says:

    1. No

    2. Mostly correct English, although I do lose capitalization some times.

    3. Proper English, punctuation, and complete sentences.

    4. I could have a negative affect on many people, however I think that for scholars it could help with written conversation.

    5. No, I have never texted while driving.

    6. It is very dangerous, about as much as drinking and driving.

  7. megtini87 says:

    1.Have you found that your use of “text language” has had a negative effect on your academic writing? Yes it has. Sad I know.

    2.Do you use “text language” when texting, or do you use proper English, punctuation, and complete sentences? Text language and it has spilled over to emails and my Facebook. It doesn’t help grammer is my worst subject.

    3.Do you use “text language” when emailing someone, or do you use proper English, punctuation, and complete sentences? I already answered this in #2

    4.Do you think that texting will have long-term positive, negative, or no effect on a student’s language and writing skills? Negative and I a prime example 🙂

    5.Have you texted while driving in the last month? No, but I have been guilty of this in the past.

    6.Do you believe that texting while driving is as dangerous as drinking and driving? It is very dangerous and stupid. Shame on me

Leave a Reply

